Flintstone Stargazing

September 16, 2007

By Jove, it’s Jupiter!


Jupiter on 9/15/07

This evening, while chilly (60° F) was just about perfect for viewing. I got images of M13 (again) and M11 (for the first time) as well as a few other targets, but the image I’m most interested in is this one of Jupiter. I used my Meade DSI Color along with my 3X Barlow to take a couple minute photo of Jupiter using its kernel filter with edge enhancement on. After several minutes, this is the image it created. When you look at the full resolution image, there is just a hint of clouds and a slightly darker area near the bottom right, which I believe is the great red spot. Maybe I’m crazy and I’m just seeing things, but I really believe there is some detail there, which is really surprising to me. I didn’t think it would be possible for me to get any detail on Jupiter with a scope as small as mine, but it makes me determined to try again as soon as I get the chance, but to take even more exposures. Anyway, check out my flickr account to see the other couple images I got.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

