Flintstone Stargazing

September 21, 2007

The Moon high in the night sky

Filed under: astronomy, Astrophotography, Moon, Observation Journal — Ed @ 10:05 pm


The Moon on 9/21/07

The evening sky has really cooperated with me this week. You can see the moon high in the evening sky as it continues to wax on it’s way to a full moon a few nights from now. In this view you can see the Copernicus Crater is not not as shaded as last night, but is still clearly defined. I love to look at the craters near the terminator because they stand out so clearly and change so much from day to day.

2 Comments »

  1. I just stumbled upon your website. You’re taking all of these shots with a D50 hooked up to a Tasco 4.5 inch reflector? You’ve pushed a Tasco farther than I’ve ever thought possible.

    The D50’s a fine camera. That’s what I use. But if you’re in this hobby for the long run (which certainly seems to be the case from your shots), definitely consider a more robust scope.

    You must be the only person on earth who’s ever taken a shot of a quasar through a Tasco. Unbelievable. Amazing shots.

    P

    Comment by Pierre — September 21, 2007 @ 10:16 pm

  2. Thanks for your kind words. Actually, I sometimes use the D50, but lately have been using my Meade DSI Color. I will admit that I get great joy from pushing my Tasco to its limit. Part of that is making sure it’s really well collimated and the other is really knowing how to use the software to get the most out of images. Regarding upgrading, you have to believe I want to do that, but I’ve got a self imposed limit on it. Before I upgrade my scope, I want to complete the Messier catalog and really learn the night sky. I also want to take some time to figure out what the best next step for me is. To that end, I’m planning on starting to attend the local astronomy club and going to star parties. I hear that’s the best way to figure out what you want.

    By not having a go-to and having limited equipment, it forces me to really understand how things work – to think before I observe and figure out what the best way to accomplish my goals is. In addition, I am really learning my way around the night sky – something I couldn’t do just months ago. Obviously there’s tons more to learn; I figure the best way to do it is to force myself to do a lot manually now so that when I get better equipment I can absolutely get the most out of it.

    I’m glad you stumbled by and hope you’ll be back.

    Comment by Ed — September 22, 2007 @ 12:12 am


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

