Flintstone Stargazing

June 24, 2009

Working on my Messier Pin

Filed under: astronomy, Messier Objects — Ed @ 12:11 am

I’ve been out viewing over the past week a bit, using the SkyTools 3 Pro software that I got through my astronomy club. This software is wonderful and has absolutely changed my observing. The logging and planning features are extraordinary and I’m using them each night to officially go through the Messier Catalog in order to qualify for my Messier pin from the Astronomical League. As regular readers of my blog know, I imaged the entire catalog last year. But, since I didn’t log my visual observations, I have not yet qualified for my Messier pin. That’s where the SkyTools software comes in. It has helped me plan my observations and even more importantly for this, allowed me to easily log my observations. In the past week, I’ve observed and logged 42 of the Messier objects. I need 70 for the pin and then have to finish the balance in order to be awarded the honorary designation, so I’m hoping I’ll be able to get up to 70 within the week.

As a result of this quest, I haven’t been imaging much, but I have been having a wonderful time.

1 Comment »

  1. Hows the Messier observing going? are you closing in on the 70? I’ve been looking at the skytools app, sounds like you really like it. have you used it for the astrophotography sessions? i see they have a number of features in the pro version targeted at that such as the S/N ratio calculator and the example images of objects tailored to your setup along with rating of how easy hard the object is with your setup. just wondering how those features are working for you.

    Comment by Jason Melquist — July 24, 2009 @ 12:53 pm


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

